Music Rumblings: Christina Aguilera “Your Body”

Let me preface my thoughts with this statement: I am a Christina Aguilera fan. In fact, she is my favorite singer. I have been a fan of hers since she was on the New Mickey Mouse Club aka MMC and through the years I have bought her albums, spent money to attend her concerts and defended her to those who bash her.  I am a fan in every sense of the word. However, I am not the kind of fan who blindly accepts and likes something just because it is my favorite singer. With that said, let’s talk “Your Body.”

My utter joy when I heard Christina was coming out with a new album cannot be expressed. It is also because of this joy that I did something I don’t normally do- I listened to the leaked demo. Normally, I avoid leaks of songs especially if they are demos as I like to hear a song the way the singer and producer meant for it to be heard.  BUT as I am a Xtina fan and I have been waiting on new music from her since Bionic (which is not as horrible as people say it is but definitely not her best), I listened to the leaked demo for “Your Body” and… LOVED it. I loved it so much that for the next 3 days I listened to it on repeat on my iPod even though the sound quality was horrible. I counted down the days until the single was released so I could listen to it in its non-distorted glory.

So imagine my shock and disbelief when the single is released and I have an odd, unexpected and strange reaction- I hate it. As in HATE it. I hate it to the point that I can’t even get through the entire song. The only other time I had this sort of reaction was when Wonder Girls released “Be My Baby” and eventually that song grew on me. Unfortunately, I don’t think “Your Body” will grow on me. I can’t listen to it and I have tried, oh man, have I tried.

So why do I hate the song so much? What is so different from the demo version? In one word: tempo. The tempo is the biggest difference between the demo and the actual release; in fact, I think it is the only difference. In the demo, the tempo was much faster; it was a dance song. In the released single, the song is mid-tempo and as a result, for me, the song becomes very boring to listen to. There really isn’t anything that makes the song stand out and its slowness drives me utterly insane.

When I was describing my utter dislike of the song to my mother (who had heard me rave about it the week before) she asked me the following question: “Would I dislike the song so much if I hadn’t heard the leaked demo?” My answer to that is yes, but I don’t think my dislike would be this strong. I think I would have disliked the song and I would have been disappointed, but not to the point that I wouldn’t be able to listen to it. I doubt it would have grown on me, but I don’t think I would have such a strong negative reaction.

While I dislike this version of the song to the depths of my soul, I seem to be the only one who feels this way. The critics and the general public seem to like it, which is awesome for Christina. As a fan, I feel like she doesn’t get the credit she deserves so I want the song to do well, even though I don’t like it.

And so, while others enjoy this song, I lament what could have been with “Your Body.” I am still looking forward to her new album, Lotus, in November and pray that it does not disappoint.

And on a side note, let this be a lesson to all of you: DON’T LISTEN TO LEAKED SONGS! Your expectations could be destroyed….and of course, it’s morally wrong. 🙂

Rating: 4/10

2 thoughts on “Music Rumblings: Christina Aguilera “Your Body”

  1. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t fall in love with “Your Body”. Like you I love Christina and thought Bionics was solid. I didn’t listen to the demo but was hesitant when I heard the song the first time. It took one listen to get me hooked. I have to stop myself from listening to it so I don’t ruin it. I’m also a Britney fan and I originally hated Hold It and TTWE but they grew on me. Hopefully it will grow on you.

    • I hope it grows on me too. I REALLY want to like the song. I’m going to give it a couple of months and see what happens. Maybe after not listening to it for awhile I’ll start to like it. It has happened before. In terms of Britney, I know a lot of people who didn’t like Til the World Ends which was interesting since I think TTWE is the better song when compared with Hold It Against Me though I love that song as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

