Personal Rumblings: Tis the Season!

As the song says, “It’s the most wonderful time of the year!” I love the holidays! They are my FAVORITE time of year. I am one of those people who listens to Christmas music all year round and starts thinking about what to get people in July. Yep, in the middle of summer when I am dying from heat thoughts of Christmas dance in my head.

I am not a positive person by nature. I make an effort everyday to be “bright and shiny,” however my dark and twisty nature is always there in the background. The only time I am able to placate the dark and twistiness is during the holidays. For me, they represent hope, miracles, family, joy and love in all forms. Yes, it can be materialistic and even my Christmas spirit dampens slightly when I am in the parking lot of a shopping mall trying to find a parking space (especially here in Los Angeles, where people can’t drive and can’t park on a normal day), but after all is said and done and I am home wrapping presents and baking cookies, my Christmas enthusiasm returns ten-fold. I spend my days listening to Christmas music, thinking about the perfect gift for someone, watching “so bad they are good” holiday movies on the Hallmark Channel and Lifetime, and baking mountains and mountains of cookies. It is also the one time of year where I get 1-2 weeks off from work and I able to head back to Colorado and see my parents and friends. As much as I love L.A., Christmas ain’t Christmas for me unless it is 40 degrees or under.

No matter what holiday you celebrate or even if you don’t celebrate any holiday, I wish you a wonderful, joyful, “bright and shiny” December! 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Personal Rumblings: Tis the Season!

Leave a Reply

