Subscription Box Rumblings: Influenster Spring Fever Vox Box

Technically this is not a subscription box, but it’s my blog and I can categorize it how I want to. 🙂 Influenster is and I quote, “…a place for culture junkies to come together and share their unique opinions of products and experiences.” It is a place for “tastemakers and trendsetters” to go to give their thoughts about products. You can link your various social media sites to it as well as review items on the Influenster. Now I am neither a trendsetter or a tastemaker, but as it is a free site I signed up for the heck of it. You earn badges and sometimes you qualify for specific item(s) or even a box full of goodies. I have no idea how, but I qualified for the Spring Fever Vox Box and received the below box of goodies.

May-June 2013 040

Secret Outlast Clear Gel Antiperspirant/Deodorant ($4.59): It sounds weird, but I was pretty excited to get this deodorant. This is actually the normal deodorant that I use as I am allergic to solid deodorants. This product is expensive where I live and depending on the store costs way more than the $4.59 price that Influenster states it is. I hate when I run out and have to purchase more. I really like this product, but I do find that it leaves some white residue when I wear this stuff. I never go sleeveless so I am fine with that, but if I wore a tank top or sleeveless dress, I would be self-conscious. There are a lot of scents and if you are allergic to the solids and are tired of using deodorant sprays I recommend this product.

Broadway Nails ImPRESS Press-on Manicure ($5.99-7.99): I haven’t tried these out yet, but they seem easy enough to use. I am a nail polish junkie and I do my nails a couple of times a week so I have never worn fake nails. I’m not sure if these will fit my nail as I have ginormous nails, but I am looking forward to trying them I got them in hot pink, but I have seen this brand in stores and they have other great, more playful designs if that is what you are looking for.

Tastykake Kandy Bar Kakes ($4.49 per box): I had never heard of Tastykake until I got this box. I got a S’more flavored bar and it was okay. There was a lot of graham cracker type filling so the cake was a little dry, but the marshmallow-esque filling was very good. It’s really dense too. It was sweet and I enjoyed it so no complaints from me.

OSIS Dust It ($23.50): I haven’t tried this product out for two reasons: 1) I never do anything besides straighten my hair. I have high maintenance hair and I am a low maintenance girl so I don’t style my hair at all. It’s such a pain to do especially since I only get my hair relaxed and/or a Brazilian Blowout once a year. The sheer amount of time that I spend washing, blow drying and straightening my hair is so ridiculous that I really can’t be bothered to do anything to it except for brushing it. 2) I have absolutely no idea what this product does. It says it is a mattifying powder and you use it to texturize your hair. That means absolutely nothing to me. I am guessing this is for volume, but I’m not sure. I have a ton of hair and never want for volume so I may send this to my Mom to try or wait until I relax my hair again in 6 (very long) months so I can try it. This is an expensive product ($23.50 for .35oz) so I think it is really awesome that they included it.

NYC New York Color Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm in Big Apple Red ($2.99): I LOVE this balm and will definitely be purchasing more. I thought this was just a lip balm, but it actually has color to it and is very pigmented. The pigmentation actually surprised me because I wasn’t expecting it. I swatched it on my hand and initially there was no color on it so I was pleasantly surprised when I put it on my lips. Even though this is Big Apple Red, the color looks very pink on me. It’s moisturizing and the apple scent is not overbearing. This is my favorite thing from the box and I’m happy I got to try it. Plus it’s so cute with the apple design in the balm.

May-June 2013 039

All in all, I really liked this box and it’s very cool that I was considered worthy enough to receive it. I like being able to try things that I normally wouldn’t and step out of my comfort zone. Hopefully, I’ll qualify for more boxes and be able to try new products.

Leave a Reply

