Beauty/Subscription Box Rumblings: Birchbox June 2013

Sub Boxes June 2013 019

After two disastrous boxes from Birchbox in the beginning of the year, I decided to give them another shot and I re-subscribed for June. I am pleased to say I am not disappointed. Birchbox is a subscription box which sends out 4-5 deluxe samples every month. Sometimes the sample will be a full-size product which is always exciting. It only costs $10 per month although they do have yearly subscriptions that you can purchase. This month’s theme was Wanderlust and the idea was to send products that would suit you on your travels. Take a look!:

Sub Boxes June 2013 022Sub Boxes June 2013 023

Color Club Mini Nail Polish in London Calling (Full-size, .25 fl oz): Every subscriber got a nail polish in one of the four colors available (coral, purple, mint green and white). I got the mint green one and it is BRIGHT. They described it as a neon but looking at it in the bottle I didn’t think it was until I put it on my fingers and yeah…it’s neon…. My co-worker said it reminded her of Halloween. I love wearing fun colors on my nails so this was right up my alley. I love the color, but I did have some formula issues. I think this would be a great color on my toes. This polish comes in a set of 4 mini polishes retails for $8.

Sub Boxes June 2013 036

LAQA & Co Lil’ Lip Duo (Full-size, .07 oz): I’m not entirely sure about the name of the color I got, but it is very pink (color below). Sadly, the color doesn’t suit my skin tone at all, but I actually mixed this with a darker lip gloss I have and it created a great color so I will get use out of it. Duo retails for $16

Sub Boxes June 2013 024

Suki Exfoliate Foaming Cleanser (Sample: .25 fl  oz): This is why I signed up for the box and I am VERY happy I got it. This stuff is amazing and my new favorite thing. I will be purchasing the full-size once I stop being broke. It is a gentle exfoliator and cleanser combined and it smells of lemons which I LOVE. I am a lemon freak and like anything that smells or tastes like lemon. I prefer it as a cleanser and it leaves my skin feeling squeaky clean and super soft. Also the lemon smells definitely wakes me up. Love Love Love. Full-size retails for $32.95

Coola Classic Face SPF 30 Cucumber Moisturizer for Face (Sample: .23 fl oz): I received this product and unfortunately have not been able to use it. My sample arrived unsealed at the top. I emailed Birchbox and they responded very quickly and sent me another which I arrived yesterday and was utterly destroyed and all over the package. It smells great, but I have not actually been able to use it so I don’t have an opinion on it. Full-size retails for $32

100% Pure Nourishing Body Cream (2 Sample packets: .066 fl oz each): Ahh foil packets. How I despise thee! Foil packets are a part of sampling life so I accept it but I don’t have to like it. I received this Vanilla Bean and in Coconut. I tried the Vanilla Bean and liked it. It’s a small packet but due to the thickness of the cream I was able to get it over most of my body (and I am not a tiny person). The vanilla scent wasn’t overpowering and this is all natural which is a plus. I am looking forward to trying the coconut and I may purchase a full-size once I use the ridiculous amount of bath stuff I already have. Full-size retails for $15.

Final thoughts: This month’s box was great for me. I was able to try products that I have never heard of before and even though a couple of the samples didn’t work out, I still appreciate that I received them. Birchbox has redeemed themselves in my eyes and I am looking forward to July’s box. 🙂

One thought on “Beauty/Subscription Box Rumblings: Birchbox June 2013

Leave a Reply

