Subscription Box/Beauty Rumblings: Birchbox September 2013

Pics 2013 080

Y’know I like to keep people on their toes and not post about my Birchbox the month that I get it. I like to wait till 1 or 2 months have gone by and post about it ’cause that’s how I roll. Anyway, my October Birchbox has yet to arrive so I figure I still have time to tell you about my September box. September’s theme was “Heritage” which was fitting as Birchbox celebrated their 3 year anniversary last month. In this day and age, it’s always nice to see a company last a while especially with subscription boxes being as popular as they are. This month was a pretty good box product-wise so take a look!

Pics 2013 084

Dr. Lipp Original Nipple Balm for Lips: I was really happy to get a sample of this. I have EXTREMELY dry lips and I’ve wanted to try this for months. I’ve been using Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm which has become my favorite balm EVER and I wondered if the Nipple Balm would surpass it. While I like the Nipple Balm, I definitely don’t like it as much as the Jack Black. The Nipple Balm is good and it did moisturize my lips, but it is really thick and very slippery and slick which I don’t love. It kind of reminds me of a higher end Vaseline. The full-size retails for $14.50 so I am super happy BB sent this to me and I got to try it before dropping some bucks on this.

Grand Central Beauty S.M.A.R.T. Skin Perfecting Polisher:  This was a very….interesting product. It is supposed to be a multi-tasking product that exfoliates, tones, smooths and moisturizes your skin. I ended up getting two samples of this because the first sample leaked so BB sent me another one, and that sample leaked as well, but I figured two half-full containers equaled one full-size sample so it worked out. I didn’t love this product, but I didn’t hate it. I only got a couple of uses out of it so it’s hard to say if it was effective. It definitely didn’t exfoliate for me nor was it moisturizing as I still needed to use a moisturizer following this. It dried out my skin something fierce. I’m happy I got to try it, but I would not purchase a full-size which retails for $38.00.

Ruffian Nail Lacquer in Delirium: Nail polish brings joy to my life, so I was super happy to get this. I received the purple color although it is more of a blurple (blue-purple) color on the nail. Initially, it went on very smoothly and it’s very opaque. The formula was perfect and I really liked my  manicure until I woke up the next morning. My nails looked very even and nice when I initially painted my nails, but the next morning I noticed that it was very patchy and streaky which was so weird. It settled very oddly. It also chipped hardcore. I paint my nails often and I have never had a polish chip on me like this (with the exception of Essie’s Leading Lady and the Sally Hansen Sugar Coat polishes). As it was pretty flawless upon application, I am thinking that it may have reacted badly to the top coat I used (Sally Hansen Insta-Dri). I’m definitely going to give this another shot as the color is gorgeous! I will not be purchasing anymore as they polishes are .17 fl oz and retail for $10.00. A typical full-size nail polish is .5 fl oz.

Serge Normant Meta Luxe Hair Spray: Hair spray is lost on me as I never style my hair, so I gave this to my Mom who is a daily hair spray user. She said it was just okay. It held her hairstyle, but it was stiff and made her hair feel sticky. Full-size retails for $25.00

Keratherapy Deep Conditioning Masque: I may never use hair spray, but I love me a deep conditioning hair mask. My ultimate deep conditioner is the Brazilian Blowout Acai Deep Conditioning Masque and I have never found anything that surpasses it. The Keratherapy masque was a pretty good hair mask. I did not love the smell, but it did leave my hair very soft and more manageable. It doesn’t surpass the Brazilian Blowout treatment for me, but as the Keratherapy is only $23.00, it is a much cheaper option.

Final Thoughts: I liked this month’s box. I get Birchbox to try things that I would never try otherwise and this month’s box definitely fit into that category. I didn’t love everything I received, but I am happy I got to try it. I am looking forward to what the October box is going to bring. 🙂

One thought on “Subscription Box/Beauty Rumblings: Birchbox September 2013

Leave a Reply

