Subscription Box/Beauty Rumblings: Birchbox October 2013

BB Oct2013 007

Why yes, I am posting about my October Birchbox IN October.  The theme this month is “Beauty Buzz” which centers around products that the Birchbox staff can’t stop talking about. I’m pretty happy with what I got this month. Take a look!

BB Oct2013 005

Benefit Cosmetics Fake Up in Deep: I was thrilled to see this in my box as I have been wanting to try this for awhile and I have heard mixed things about it. I really liked this concealer especially under my eyes. I have dry skin and the current concealer I use accentuates the dryness under my eyes. Although I like this product, I wouldn’t purchase a full-size because of the shade range. Benefit only makes this concealer in three shades: Light, Medium, and Deep. My skin color is right between Medium and Deep so technically the sample Birchbox sent me (Deep) is too dark and had they sent me Medium it would have been too light…story of my makeup life 🙂 I am making it work as I really do like the concealer, but no full-size for me.

POP Beauty Aqua Lacquer in Flowering Fuschsia: I was not expecting to like this, but I was pleasantly surprised. This is a sheer, high shine lip gloss. While the color seems like it is going to be a super bright pink, it is actually pretty sheer and subtle on me. The applicator is rubber which is unusual to me, but it didn’t hinder the application of the product at all. It doesn’t last very long so I did need to reapply throughout the day, but that’s to be expected. It is somewhat sticky, but I like my lip glosses that way. They don’t move and leave my lips all glossy and pretty. This retails for $14.

Serious Skincare Glycolic Gommage Extreme Renewal Exfoliating Facial: I am an exfoliation junkie. If a product has any variation of the word “exfoliate,” it is going on my want list. I haven’t used this yet, but I have been hearing good things. My skin is freaking out at the moment so I can’t wait to try this. Full-size retails for $38.50.

Supergoop! City Sunscreen Serum: I have a confession to make…I never wear sunscreen. I know I know! I am so bad. Honestly, I just forget about it which is no excuse. I am trying to get better about it so I was happy to see this sample. Although the sample packaging itself is nicely sized, I only got 1 use out of it. THAT is very annoying, but it is what it is. It was fine. It’s sunscreen. Nothing much to say about it. I don’t think I would purchase this particular product as it is on the more expensive side of things. Depending on the size, full-size retails for $20-42.

Chapstick Hydration Lock in Vanilla Crème: This was the Birchbox Find for the month. Birchbox Finds are “always in addition, never in place of…” our samples. I am always fine with receiving a chapstick as I have supremely dry lips. This was okay. It’s nothing all that special or different from regular chapstick, at least for me. The scent isn’t as vanilla-y as I would like, but I’ll live.

Final Thoughts: It was a good box this month. Nothing I hated or didn’t use which is always a plus. I am very happy I signed back up with Birchbox. I can’t wait to see what November brings.

One thought on “Subscription Box/Beauty Rumblings: Birchbox October 2013

Leave a Reply

